Sewer Master Plan

Sewer Master Plan Background

The purpose of the Sewer Master Plan is to provide an evaluation of the City’s existing sewer collection systems and recommend improvements to transport all wastewater flows under existing and future conditions. The Sewer Master Plan is intended to serve as a general, flexible, and open-ended document that requires periodic updates to consider changes in sewage generation, land development, infrastructure needs, and capital costs.

The City does not own or operate any sewer treatment facilities, however there are two regional sewer treatment plants (RP-5 and Carbon Canyon) in the City of Chino, which are owned and operated by the Inland Empire Utilities Agency (IEUA). As a regional utility agency, IEUA provides sewer treatment services for several municipalities including the City of Chino.

In 1993, the Sewer Master Plan was prepared by Montgomery Watson in September 1993. The City’s existing public sewerage system covered an area approximately 19 square miles with about 170 miles of pipelines ranging 6-inch to 27-inch in diameter. 

In 2003, the Sewer Master Plan was revised by Berryman & Henigar in August 2003. The report included a portion of Subarea 1 and Subarea 2 "The Preserve", which identified capacity expansion due to the additional 2.7 square miles and 8.5 square miles, respectively, in the southwest area of the City. 

In 2011, the Sewer Master Plan was evaluated by KEC Engineers, Inc. in September 2011. At the time, the City’s sanitary sewer system consisted of approximately 224 miles of gravity sewer pipelines ranging from 6-inch to 21-inch in diameter; 4,200 sewer manholes; and a sewage lift station with approximately 2,500 feet of 4-inch sewer force main. 

In 2022, the Sewer Master Plan was revised by Dudek in May 2022. The study area encompassed the City’s current 31 square miles consisting of a collection system with 21,000 sewer connections and approximately 267 miles of gravity sanitary sewer pipelines ranging from 6-inch to 27-inch in diameter, force mains, and three (3) sewer lift stations.